Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 27th, 2014

It was the first night last night! I spent all day working on my meal, and as a consequence, I was almost late to get there! I turned up just gone 6, and was the last one there. The flat looked all tidy,and we started by having ‘aperitifs’- that is, a small babycham.  I had not had this for years, and I could see why- it is worse than I remember.

Anyway, I was right about Ang doing the cooking, but was wrong about the menu. Ralph said he and Ang guessed that we would have thought they would do Thai, so they went the other way, and did a traditional English menu. I am not sure if it is traditional English, but it was nice.

We sat down for the starter- Prawn Cocktail. It must be said- it was lovely,the best one I have had. Alma does not like fish like that, but even she enjoyed it.

For the main course, we had sausage and mash. The sausages were hand made, and were lovely and firm (Ralph said they like their sausages firm. It took me 20 minutes to work that one out). We had it with a pint of Ale; Dai and Valentine said this was the best part. The mash was a bit lumpy, but the gravy was lovely; best I have had for a while.

Next came the entertainment- Ralph hosted a game of ‘Who wants to be a millionaire’. We could not phone a friend- we were all there!- but it was fun, non the less. We got to a quarter of a million! As I said, I don’t know anything about football.

For pudding, we had home-made vanilla ice cream. By now the ale has started to work, and we were all a bit drunk. By the time we were finished, Ang was naked; I am surprised it took that long, to be honest. I was a bit uncomfortable for Alma, but she seemed to love it, and was quite impressed by Ang’s physic. It must be said, he has a nice, proportioned body.

We ended up having some cheesey 80’s music on, and had a bit of a bop- great fun. I got home just before midnight, a little worse for wear, but really happy. As I said, we will be voting together when we all meet up on Saturday for lunch- I can’t wait to see who wins.

A real shame Maureen was not there, but I do think she was there in spirit, in one way or another.

Was supposed to be Alma tonight, but Dai and Valentine have asked her to swap, so we are going to theirs tonight, and Alma’s on Friday.

It is turning into a good week!

Yours sincerely

 

Raymond Williams

Read Full Post »